Holidays

A Pinterest Easter with a Toddler

IMG_1425

I had high aspirations this Easter to make it the most fun-filled event ever. I created an Easter Board on Pinterest and tried out several of the ideas. Here’s how it went:

-Fingerpainting: Fail. D is not interested in doing different cute designs to go through the week of Easter. So just know that any finger painting you see that requires a steady hand should probably be for ages 3+.

-Printables: Most were too advanced for my son. We ended up just trying out the Easter Finger Puzzle. This lead to a meltdown because I wouldn’t let D cut out the square and fold it. I would recommend cutting it out ahead of time, letting your little color it, and then folding it when they aren’t looking, so you don’t have to hear “No I DO IT!!!”

-Dying Eggs: D had lots of fun and I was slightly stressed he would drink the dyed water we dunked the eggs in. Let’s just say there’s a reason I added some “Getting Dye off of Hands” pins to the board. You’re welcome.

-Easter Books: Win! We checked out eight Easter books from the library. While they were all cute, my favorite was Looking For Easter, because I felt like it tied in more of the true meaning of Easter (new life). IMG_1381

-Non-candy Egg fillings: I would highly recommend this, because D got plenty of candy from other sources on Easter. We chose to put a toddler sock in each egg and he was just as excited to get those as he was the candy. (These were patterned socks we let him pick out at the store a few weeks ago). I loved the other non-candy filling ideas on the pinterest board, and look forward to trying them in later years.

-Reusing Plastic Eggs: So far we’ve only tried making the egg maracas from this video, and they were a huge hit! We have so many eggs left from the four Easter egg hunts we did this week, so I look forward to figuring out other uses for them.

-Christ-centered activities: Since D is still young for most of the ideas I pinned, I went for just drawing a picture of Christ on the cross and Christ rising from the tomb. That seemed to resonate with him the most. I also introduced him to Handel’s Hallelujah chorus and he now constantly requests it. Music is a powerful tool in teaching children.

-Food: We used our hard-boiled dyed eggs to make Eggs Benedict for dinner. We also tried out this Resurrection Roll Recipe. If you do these rolls, be aware that they will have liquid inside from the melted marshmallow. I chose to make mine in a muffin tin instead of a cake pan, which led to some spilling in the oven. Despite that, these were delicious and worth the effort. IMG_1482

We had a wonderful week leading up to Easter, and I hope this post can give you some ideas for next year!

Why I Needed a Mom Vacation

Leave a comment