Health, Printables

Your Self-Esteem Becomes Your Child’s Self-Esteem

Pinterest Ready Self-Esteem2

Think about it: our children learn how to think about themselves from us. We help them form their view of the world, through our actions and words. Sometimes, we forget that it isn’t just what we say to our children that matters: what we say to and about ourselves matters a great deal as well.

I came across this eye-opening article about a woman who had a wake-up call about her self-esteem: Do Stay-At-Home Moms Have Low Self-Esteem? (It’s a quick read. 🙂 ) This article is getting me thinking about a lot of different things. Mainly, I’m asking myself: What am I doing or NOT doing to maintain and enhance my own self-esteem?

Being a mom is HARD. It’s the most important work but also the least recognized, in my opinion. Personally, I choose to stay at home with my children because I love it- I honestly enjoy the life of a SAHM. But this doesn’t mean that I don’t have days where I feel like locking myself in a closet by myself with all the chocolate in the house and ignoring my children… 😉 But seriously, sometimes I feel really brain dead. I haven’t been a mom for very long, but I’m already learning that for my own sanity and well-being, I need to do things for myself that remind me I’m not JUST a mom. First and foremost, I am ME.

Studies show that mothers who have low self-esteem put their children at risk of having low self-esteem as well. This makes sense, because if a child consistently, year after year, witnesses his or her mom putting herself down, obsessing about her weight, rejecting compliments, etc., the child will naturally accept these behaviors and attitudes as normal. This article explains how important it is for a mother to be aware of how she treats herself, to protect her daughter from low self-esteem. This advice can also be applied to mothers and sons.

I have an idea. Maybe some of you already do something like this… I think moms (or really, just any person) should give themselves self-esteem checkups. It can be a way for us to see how we’re doing and help us get to where we want to be. To help you in your healthy self-esteem journey, I made a printable self-esteem checkup worksheet! You can download it here:

Being a mom requires more than just taking care of our kids. We are raising the next generation! We are raising precious souls who crave love and validation from us. One of the greatest and most enduring gifts we can give our children is the gift of a mother who loves and accepts herself.

I also designed a printable quote for you to put on your wall or mirror, to remind you of why self-love is so important- not only for your own well-being, but also for your child’s! You can get the quote here. 🙂

Self love quote

NEW Signature

Leave a Reply

